How many NFL Teams are there, and what states are they in?

October 10, 2020

How many teams are in the NFL?

There are 32 teams in the National Football league.

More info about which states they reside in below, but first, the concern on everyone’s mind…

Free Betting Tips

Check out ZCode’s free picks trial – sent straight to your inbox.

NFL teams listed by state

Which state are your favorite football teams located in?

State NameNFL Team(s)
ArizonaArizona Cardinals
CaliforniaLos Angeles Rams
Los Angeles Chargers
Oakland Raiders
San Francisco 49ers
ColoradoDenver Broncos
FloridaJacksonville Jaguars
Miami Dolphins
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
GeorgiaAtlanta Falcons
IllinoisChicago Bears
IndianaIndianapolis Colts
LouisianaNew Orleans Saints
MarylandBaltimore Ravens
MassachusettsNew England Patriots
MichiganDetroit Lions
MinnesotaMinnesota Vikings
MissouriKansas City Chiefs
New JerseyNew York Giants
New York Jets
New YorkBuffalo Bills
North CarolinaCarolina Panthers
OhioCincinnati Bengals
Cleveland Browns
PennsylvaniaPhiladelphia Eagles
Pittsburgh Steelers
TennesseeTennessee Titans
TexasDallas Cowboys
Houston Texans
WashingtonSeattle Seahawks
Washington Football Team
(formerly Redskins)
WisconsinGreen Bay Packers

The following sections highlight which states have more than one NFL team:

How many states have two NFL teams?

Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Texas all have 2 NFL teams.

What state has three NFL teams?

Florida, with the Jacksonville Jaguars, the Miami Dolphins, and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Which state has the most NFL teams?

California, with 4 teams – the Los Angeles Rams, the Los Angeles Chargers, the Oakland Raiders, and finally the San Francisco 49ers.

See also our list of NFL Teams in Alphabetical Order